Which might be making all this seem just a leeetle bit more dramatic than it truly is, but leave me alone, I have no life right now.

Last night when the Viking got home (in time to have dinner with me!) he said that his friend – Hockey Girl – had texted him and said it was so nice to see me today.  Ummm, to quote a certain male supermodel, ex-squeeze-me?  Like I said yesterday, that would be a lie.

I thought back over the coffee shop encounter, wondering if maybe I’ve just gotten to the point where I’m oversensitive to the three headed monster (or any one head thereof) and maybe she was friendlier than I felt at the time, but nope.  Okay, she didn’t walk right up to me and smack me in the face or anything, but there was no mistaking that the temperature dropped about 20 degrees when I tried to talk to her, and she couldn’t get away from me fast enough.

So why randomly and blatantly lie in a text to a third party?  It’s not even like he asked her and she was put in a spot so lied so it wouldn’t be awkward, he had no clue we saw each other until she texted him out of the blue.

Was it some kind of pre-emptive strike, in case I whined to him that his friend was mean to me?  Is that how she sees me?  I would never do that.  Once of the reasons I vent in this blog is so that I don’t let it slip to him how I feel about his oh-so-wonderful friends.  One day maybe, if this continues, I might have to be clear that they are not going to be a part of my life (though I would never stop him seeing them, I’m not like that), but for now, everything is so new – both with me and him and me and them – that I feel I need to let the dust settle before I make any declarations.

Not to mention, even if he did know the situation between me and his friends, I would not whine to him about every random instance.  I’m just not like that, and it shouldn’t bother me that she possibly thinks I am, but of course it does.

But then I got to thinking a little bit (never a good idea, I know!)

I know I said yesterday that it couldn’t possibly be personal, but there is something weird about their behavior to me.  So what is the one thing they know about me?  That I’m the Viking’s girlfriend.

So what’s their problem with that?

Jealousy is kind of the most obvious, but I’m rational enough to feel that if his two best girlfriends (not to mention guy friend!) have been carrying torches for him all this time, it would have come up in conversation and been dealt with long before I came on the scene.  These people have been friends and hanging out with each other for decades, literally (plus Hockey Girl and Asterix are dating one another) and it just doesn’t make a whole lot of sense that all three of them spontaneously fell in love with him right when he met me.

It was then that it occurred to me to wonder if they have treated all his girlfriends like this, or if it’s just me that’s lucky.  I think I’ve mentioned before that I’m not exactly the jealous type, I really don’t have a whole lot of interest in the ins and outs of the Viking’s love life before me, but this thought did make me realize that I can’t think of a time he has mentioned an ex.  The guy is in his mid 30s and pretty easy on the eye (have I mentioned he is Swedish?) so I’m pretty confident I’m not exactly his first, he’s just not the type to drop, “my ex this and that” into conversation, and I’ve never asked.

It’s not like I’m going to track these women down and be like, “yo, so were his friends assholes to you too?”, but maybe if I have that conversation with him, I’ll figure out a way to subtly dig a little on how well they got on with his friends… just call me Columbo…